[{"label":"Home","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/en"},{"label":"Publications","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/en\/publications"},{"label":"The Industrial and Technological Benefits Policy: An Analysis of Contractor Obligations and Fulfillment","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/en\/publications\/RP-2223-003-S--industrial-technological-benefits-policy-an-analysis-contractor-obligations-fulfillment--politique-retombees-industrielles-technologiques-analyse-obligations-contractuelles-leur-execution"}]

The Industrial and Technological Benefits Policy: An Analysis of Contractor Obligations and Fulfillment

Read (PDF)
Published on May 12, 2022 PDF

This report analyses transactions and investments made from 2015-2019 under the Industrial and Technological Benefits Policy for Canadian defence and security procurement, as administered by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

Highlights

  • ITB transactions over the 2015 to 2019 period total $18.3 billion in Canadian dollars.

  • Credit multipliers do not play a significant role in obligation fulfillment, accounting for only 0.8% of total transactions.

  • “Indirect” transactions, which concern work unrelated to the procurement, account for nearly half (47.1%) of the total dollar value of transactions.

  • While Small and Medium Enterprises are engaged in over 50 percent of ITB transactions, they account for only 12.2% of total transaction amounts.

  • Of the total dollar value in ITB transactions with large partner firms, Canadian-owned firms account for 30.8%.


Communications

Quotes

  • The Industrial and Technological Benefits (ITB) Policy aims to leverage defense and security procurement for job creation and growth. We find that transactions under this policy for the period 2015 to 2019 total C$18.3 billion.

  • Of the $18.3 billion, we find that 47% of this total pertains to transactions that are indirect in nature, meaning that the activities performed by the contractor and its suppliers are not directly related to the production of the military equipment purchased by Canada.

  • In terms of the number of companies benefiting from investments under the Policy, there are slightly more SMEs than large companies. However, our analysis shows that SMEs receive approximately 12% of the total dollar amount of transactions, while large companies, the majority of which are foreign-owned, receive 88%.

  • Of the approximately $16 billion in ITB transactions that involve large firms, we find that only about 31% of these firms are Canadian-owned.

Yves Giroux
Parliamentary Budget Officer

[{"label":"Accueil","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/fr"},{"label":"Publications","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/fr\/publications"},{"label":"Politique des retomb\u00e9es industrielles et technologiques : analyse des obligations contractuelles et de leur ex\u00e9cution","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/fr\/publications\/RP-2223-003-S--industrial-technological-benefits-policy-an-analysis-contractor-obligations-fulfillment--politique-retombees-industrielles-technologiques-analyse-obligations-contractuelles-leur-execution"}]

Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques : analyse des obligations contractuelles et de leur exécution

Consulter le PDF
Publié le 12 mai 2022 PDF

Ce rapport résume l’analyse des engagements en matière d’investissement pris au cours de la période allant de 2015 à 2019 conformément à la Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques dans le domaine de l’approvisionnement de défense et de sécurité du Canada, dont l’application est assurée par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Faits saillants

  • Les transactions liées aux RIT au cours de la période de 2015 à 2019 totalisent 18,3 milliards de dollars canadiens.

  • Les multiplicateurs de crédit ne contribuent pas beaucoup à l’exécution des obligations (ne représentent que 0,8 % du total des transactions).

  • Les transactions « indirectes », qui concernent des travaux sans lien avec l’approvisionnement, représentent près de la moitié (47,1 %) de la valeur totale en dollars des transactions.

  • Même si les petites et moyennes entreprises participent à plus de la moitié des transactions liées aux RIT, elles ne comptent que pour 12,2 % de leur montant total.

  • Les entreprises appartenant à des intérêts canadiens représentent 30,8 % de la valeur totale en dollars des transactions liées aux RIT avec de grandes entreprises partenaires.


Communications

Citations

  • La Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT) vise à tirer parti des approvisionnements du secteur de la sécurité et de la défense pour contribuer à la création d’emplois et à la croissance économique. Les transactions en vertu de cette politique de 2015 à 2019 totalisent 18,3 milliards de dollars canadiens.

  • Nous observons que, de ce total de 18,3 milliards de dollars, 47 % concernent des transactions de nature indirecte, ce qui signifie que les activités réalisées par l’entrepreneur et ses fournisseurs ne sont pas directement liées à la production de l’équipement militaire acquis par le Canada.

  • Nous notons qu’un nombre légèrement plus élevé de PME que de grandes sociétés bénéficie d’investissements en vertu de cette politique. Or, selon notre analyse, les PME reçoivent approximativement 12 % du montant total consacré à ces transactions, alors que les grandes sociétés, dont la majorité appartient à des intérêts étrangers, en reçoivent 88 %.

  • Sur des transactions de RIT d’approximativement 16 milliards de dollars, nous remarquons qu’environ 31 % seulement de ces entreprises sont canadiennes.

Yves Giroux
Directeur parlementaire du budget