[{"label":"Home","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/en"},{"label":"The PBO at a Glance","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/en\/about--a-propos","section":{"id":1,"title_en":"About","title_fr":"\u00c0 propos"}}]

The PBO at a Glance

Parliament’s financial and economic analyst.

The PBO’s mandate is to provide independent analysis to Parliament on the budget, the estimates and other documents, as well as matters of particular significance relating to the nation’s finances or economy listed in the PBO’s annual work plan; and at the request of a committee or a parliamentarian, to estimate the financial cost of any proposal that relates to matters over which Parliament has jurisdiction. Certain committees can also request analyses of the nation’s finances or economy or the estimates.

In the months before a general election, the PBO has an additional mandate of responding to requests from political parties or independent members of the House of Commons to estimate the financial cost of any election campaign proposal that the party or member is considering making.

By providing independent and non-partisan financial and economic analysis, we support Parliament with the goal of raising the quality of parliamentary debate on questions of public money and promoting greater budget transparency and accountability.

Many countries have established similar offices to provide economic and fiscal analysis to the legislature. The International Monetary Fund refers to such organizations as “fiscal councils”. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) – under which a network of PBOs has been established – refers to them as “parliamentary budget officials” and “independent fiscal institutions”. In Canada, there is one other office with a mandate similar to that of the PBO: Ontario’s Financial Accountability Office.

[{"label":"Accueil","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/fr"},{"label":"Le DPB en bref","url":"https:\/\/www.pbo-dpb.ca\/fr\/about--a-propos","section":{"id":1,"title_en":"About","title_fr":"\u00c0 propos"}}]

Le DPB en bref

L'analyste financier et économique du Parlement

Le DPB a pour mandat de présenter au Parlement une analyse indépendante sur le budget, les budgets des dépenses et d’autres documents, sur les questions d’importance particulière quant à l’état des finances ou à l’économie du pays énoncées dans son plan de travail annuel, ainsi que, à la demande d’un comité ou d’un parlementaire, sur les coûts de toute mesure proposée relevant des domaines de compétence du Parlement. Certains comités peuvent également demander des analyses sur les finances, l’économie ou les budgets des dépenses du Canada.

Les mois précédant une élection générale, le DPB a aussi pour mandat de répondre aux demandes des partis politiques ou des députés indépendants de la Chambre des communes pour ce qui est d’évaluer les coûts de toute proposition de campagne électorale envisagée par le parti ou le député.

En fournissant une analyse économique et financière indépendante et non partisane, le DPB aide le Parlement en vue d’élever le débat parlementaire sur la manière de percevoir et de dépenser les fonds publics ainsi que de favoriser une transparence budgétaire et une reddition de compte améliorées.

De nombreux pays ont établi des organismes semblables pour fournir une analyse économique et financière à leur assemblée législative. Le Fonds monétaire international désigne ces organismes sous le nom de « conseils budgétaires ». De même, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE), sous l’égide de laquelle un réseau des directeurs parlementaires du budget a été mis sur pied, les appelle « responsables parlementaires du budget » et « institutions financières indépendantes ». Au Canada, un autre bureau au mandat analogue à celui du DPB a vu le jour : le Bureau de la responsabilité financière de l’Ontario.